Manage translation details

After you've sent a job for translation, but before the vendor completes the work, there are some details you can update. You can see all the settings on the original screens you used to create the job, even if you can't update them.

Required Permissions

  • For full access to all translation jobs, you must be an administrator.
    • An admin can edit and cancel any translation job regardless of Translation module permissions.
    • To configure permissions, administrators can follow the steps in: Update module access permissions.
  • For full access to your own jobs, you must be a coordinator.
    • Coordinators retain access to their own jobs regardless of Translation module permissions.
    • A user who is the coordinator of a job can still edit and cancel it even if they have no explicit Translation module-level Update permission.
  • To edit and cancel any translation job, a non-admin user must have both the Read and Update permissions for the Translation module.
  • To see all jobs, a non-admin user must have the Read permission for the Translation module.

If a translation job has only been Queued and not Submitted yet, the details you can change are the same as if the job is In Progress. For more information, refer to Update a queued translation job

You can update only specific details if a job is in the Translating state (not completed or canceled). You can change:

  • Name of the translation job
  • Description
  • Translation Coordinator
  • Cancel Languages
  • Cancel translation of source Components

You can't change:

  • Due Date
  • Target Languages
  • Vendor
  • Export configuration
  • Filters
  • Option to exclude or Include referenced content
  • Option to exclude or Include schema
  • Option to exclude or Include binary files
  • Force translation of all components
  • Add new source Components
  • Add a new Language
  • Reference only components
  • Automatic Publish options

Read-only settings:

  • On the Details tab: Due Date, Target Languages, Translation Project, Total Words Sent for Translation, Filters (for attributes), Include referenced content, Export Configuration, Translate Binary, Force Translation of All, Components
  • On the Languages tab: Languages (you can't select new languages)
  • On the Components tab: Components (you can't select new languages)
  • On the Integration tab: Submission Request Information, Submission Response Information, Retrieval Request Information, Retrieval Response Information
  • On the Reference only tab: Name, Filename

In previous releases, when you added a component to a translation job, it was locked with a system lock that was removed only after the translation was completed or canceled.

However, source files that are included in an active translation can be unlocked by an administrator in the following ways:

  • An administrator can enable a feature to leave the files unlocked when sent to translation. Admins can read Allow files to remain unlocked during translation.
  • Now an Administrator can unlock any component with a system lock, even if it's included in a translation that's still in progress.
    • The admin sees a warning that any changes made while the component was locked will be lost.

Descriptions of settings

To see a description of all the settings on the Update Translation dialog, read Send one component to translation or Send components to translation.