Force track changes to stay on

As an Inspire administrator, you can set permissions to grant or deny users and roles access to a specific module. By default, when a user opens a component in the Oxygen editor, the Change Tracking option in the toolbar is turned off and can be managed by the user. If you want to configure Oxygen behavior for a user or role so that Change Tracking is automatically on, you can add them to the Content Browser module's enable_track_changes_by_default property in Module Access Management. Users can turn it off when needed, unless you also enable disable_track_changes_button.

Tips and tricks

The enable_track_changes_by_default property hides the Change Tracking option and automatically tracks all changes for all users except administrators.

  • By default, all users can see and toggle the Change Tracking option in the Oxygen editor.
  • If you add a non-administrator user or role to this property, then the user or role:
    • Doesn't see the Change Tracking option
    • Can make changes to the content
    • The changes are highlighted
    • The Change Tracking option cannot be turned OFF unless you also enable disable_track_changes_button.

The settings for these properties do not apply when editing a component in a review.

If you want to hide the Change Tracking option, add the user or role to the disable_track_changes_button property. Follow the steps in: Force track changes to stay off.

Table 1. Sample configurations
Permission Result
Neither enabled Track changes is off; users can turn it on.
enable_track_changes_by_default only Track changes is on; user can turn it off
disable_track_changes_button only Track changes is off; users cannot change it
Both enabled Track changes is on; users cannot change it
To enable these permissions, go to Security > Module access management> Content browser.

To Force track changes to stay on for a specific user or role:

  1. From the Security menu, select Module access management.
  2. On the Module access management tab, select Content Browser, and then at the end of that row click Update pencil_icon.
  3. On the Update Module Access Permissions screen, select the Properties tab.
  4. In Module Properties, select enable_track_changes_by_default.
  5. In Users/Roles, click Add.
    On the Select Users screen, if the list is large or you only want to see a certain type of user, you can narrow the list in the following ways:

    • To see only names that contain a word or specific letters, in Filter, enter text. For example, you can find names that contain admin, or review. You can't search for text in any other column except Name.
    • To see all users sorted by Name, Security Type, or User Type, click the column heading and then click the grey arrow. To sort by Name or User Type you can also use the Sort By drop-down box.
    • By default, names with a User Type of Support are not included in the list. To see these users, select the Include support users option.
  6. After you finish selecting users or roles, click Select.
    Results:
    • You see your selection(s) added to the Users/Roles list.
    • You return to the Permissions tab of the Update Module Access Permissions screen.
  7. On the Update Module Access Permissions screen, click Save.
    Results:
    • You are returned to Module Access Management screen.
    • Any users whose access you changed must log out and back in to see the changes.